When We Are Closed

Protected Learning Time

We will be closed one afternoon each month to provide the practice with protected time for training.
Birbeck Medical Group will close at 1pm on the following dates:

  • Wednesday 16th March 2022
  • Wednesday 27th April 2022
  • Thursday 12th May 2022
  • Wednesday 15th June 2022
  • Thursday 14th July 2022
  • Wednesday 14th September 2022
  • Thursday 13th October 2022
  • Wednesday 16th November 2022
  • Thursday 12th January 2023
  • Wednesday 15th February 2023
  • Wednesday 15th March 2023

Out of Hours Services


When your GP practice is closed, patients should call the NHS 111 service by dialling 111. All calls are free from landlines and mobile phones.

What is the NHS 111 service?

  • A simple, free to call, easy to remember three digit number that is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.
  • The NHS 111 service directs patients to the service that is best able to meet their needs, taking into account their location, the time of day of their call, and the capacity of local services.
    • When should I use the NHS 111 service?
  • When it’s not a life threatening situation, and therefore is less urgent than a 999 call.
  • When visiting your own GP isn’t an option, for instance, when the GP Practice is closed or you are away from home.
  • When you feel you cannot wait or are simply unsure of which service you require.
  • When you require reassurance about what to do next.